Log in

Florida Trucking Association - 2024 Florida Truck Driving Championships winners announced


In what was one of the country's largest events, over 330 drivers qualified and registered for the 2024 Truck Driving Championships in Daytona Beach, Florida.

Drivers participated in three areas of assessment with 11 classes, including a new class this year for FDOT Straight Truck. The top three winners were announced in each class with additional awards for Written Test, Pre-Trip, and Rookie of the Year.

At a sold-out awards banquet, over 1200 drivers, family members, and company representatives packed the room to celebrate the winners along with two Hall of Fame Inductees, Small and Large Team Trophy, The Drivers of the Month, and Driver of the Year.

Thank you to the more than 100 volunteers! This event took an immense amount of time and talent- with outstanding results.

Let's cheer on the top winner in each category as they head to the National Truck Driving Championships in Indianapolis, Indiana, August 21-24.

1.    Rusty Pederson, FedEx Freight Corporation
2.    Justin Nehring, Old Dominion Freight Line
3.    Harold Penrod, XPO Logistics 

1.    Juan Velez, UPS, Rookie 
2.    James Watson, FedEx Express
3.    Stephen Lassiter, FedEx Freight Corporation 

1.    Rifat Becirevic, Publix Super Markets
2.    Joshua Ehret, Publix Super Markets, Rookie
3.    Sheldon Brown, FedEx Freight Corporation 

1.    Edward Pennington, FedEx Freight Corporation
2.    Eddie Hosegood, FedEx Freight Corporation
3.    Jeremy Shirah, Publix Super Markets, Rookie

1.    Fred Combs, Walmart Transportation 
2.    Tyler Payne, UPS
3.    Tommy Bianculli, Walmart Transportation 

1.    Joseph Michael Hipsher, Publix Super Markets, Rookie 
2.    Juan Santiago, FedEx Freight Corporation
3.    Alexander Lai, FedEx Freight Corporation, Rookie 

1.    Dennis Rollins, Florida Rock & Tank Lines 
2.    John Roberts, Publix Super Markets
3.    Luis Gonzalez, Old Dominion Freight Line 

1.    Jason Vanscoten, ABF Freight System, Rookie 
2.    William Paulson, UPS
3.    Ben Atkinson, ABF Freight System 

Step Van 
1.    Judith Stoffo, FedEx Ground
2.    Nicholas Tison, UPS, Rookie
3.    Rick Warner, Walmart Transportation

Auto Transport 
1.    Matthew Cole, Proficient Auto Transport
2.    Paul Jones, Centurion Auto Transport
3.    Carlos Herrera, Proficient Auto Transport

FDOT Straight Truck 
1.    Dillon Steinborn, FDOT
2.    Carlos Teran, FDOT
3.    Bradley Browning, FDOT

Fleet Force Rookie of the Year 
1.    Joshua Ehret, Publix Super Market

Written Test 
3-way tie: 
Rebecca Nelson in Straight Truck with FedEx Express
Henry Mahler in Sleeper with Oakley Transport 
Jottyn Santos in 5 Axle with FedEx Express 

Juan Velez in 4-Axle class a rookie with UPS

Grand Champion 
Rifat Becirevic in the 5-Axle class with Publix Super Markets

Team Trophy

Oakley Transport (Small Team) 

XPO Logistics (Large Team) 

Hall of Fame
Ray Llloyd, Coca Cola Beverages Florida
Eddie Hosegood, FedEx Freight Corporation 

Drivers of the Month
January- Sheldon Brown, FedEx Freight Corporation
February- Terry Bennett, ABF Freight 
March- Michael Ocasio, Publix Super Markets
April- Ricky Gonsales, FedEx Freight Corporation
May-Jerry Humphrey, Trans-Phos Transportation 
June- Ben Poitevint, Florida Rock & Tank Lines
July- Tommy Forrest, FedEx Freight Corporation 
August- John Roberts, Publix Super Markets
September- Dale Prevatt, Florida Rock & Tank Lines 
October- Randy Logan, UPS
November- Michael Hadley, Trans-Phos Transportation 
December- Jorge Acosta, FedEx Freight Corporation  

Driver of the Year

John Roberts, Publix Super Markets

Who won the 2024 Truck Driving Championships in Daytona Beach, Florida? What did truck drivers have to do to win the Truck Driving Championship this year? What are the categories of awards from the 2024 Truck Driving Championship in Florida? Automotive fun, Truck driving opportunities in Florida, Transportation and Florida


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here